Words shared become Light

On Self-Image / Da Auto-imagem

ENG

“I know I’m beautiful, but I do not feel pretty.”

This phrase must be present in the thought  of many women in the world. And I do not say this so that you may pity me or praise me. I noticed that none of that works. The issue comes from within. I have been meaning to write this text for months, and the experience as a model in my friend Anaas  fashion show, last Saturday, was the limit for me. This phrase symbolizes the awareness of a reality that has lived with me since I was 20 years old. The battle I’ve been fighting with myself.
I always felt like a ugly bug, someone who lived in a world apart, because of the children that made fun of me at school because I was disabled  (that is to say different from them) or because my Soul did not fit the norm (it was too sensible). And, whether I like it or not, this interaction affected the image I had of myself. When I lost weight suddenly, and at the age of 20, I was diagnosed with anorexia and did not see any reason for it. I did not worship any kind of magazine model. My heroes were Almeida Garrett, Gandhi and the timeless artists of Art History classes. I had not stopped eating, or so I thought. I did not even know that I weighed 64 kilos, or what it meant, until the day the jeans I had just putt on fell to the ground.  None of this was conscious or intentional, and therefore even more difficult to understand. By now I had lost all my muscle mass, had severe depression and anxiety attacks. After a battalion of doctors, supplements, antidepressants and watchmen, I regained a healthy weight and my sanity, or so I thought. And I got a habit: every time I eat, I think if I’m eating enough and if it’s a balanced diet.
And it all worked out very well, until 2 years ago I had to start doing new treatment that makes me gain weight and I reduced muscle activity because of partial epilepsy, which had not yet been diagnosed, and then 20 kilos rushed to me and the true labor started: to reconcile myself with this new body image. And it was here that I discovered that what was wrong has  never had anything to do with my body, because no matter how thin I was I did not think I was beautiful. My shoulders were always wide, my face too square, my body too odd. And it was also here that I discovered that the toned arms and body I had, after all, were what many  woman wanted, and I took a softer view on my own beauty. The eyes, the lips, the Soul. I think we are too harsh, too demanding on ourselves because we have concepts of unreal beauty based on other concepts that our own mind has created, wich may well not even exist. And has I arrived to this conclusion, I realized that I had spent so much time preaching “we are just a shell for the Soul “and” Beauty comes from the inside “that I forgot to do the most important thing – Love myself. And you can say whatever who want to try and help me,  but  is me who has to do the work and “fix” me, it’s each of us. Because if we do not love ourselves, seriously, raw and simple, without slogans, without phrases or accessories , Life does not advance. And I’m not an example to anyone, I’m just doing it for myself, blindly, without a map, I’m just learning to do it every day, one day at a time. The road is long. The Destination seems impossible. I know there are many women and men with anorexia, bulimia or pure low self esteem out there who will read this and think, “words are easy.” I also have no magic recipes, but I believe that each one of us has the ability to hear our own heart and recognize our own Beauty. Sometimes we just forget to listen to our heart. We just have to look inside, look deep, and we’re going to find ourselves, our Beauty. And that will change our view of us. That will change our Life. Do not give up.

PT

“Eu sei que sou bonita, mas não me sinto bonita.”

Esta frase deve fazer círculos no pensamento de muitas mulheres do mundo. E não digo isto para que tenham pena de mim ou para que me façam elogios. Percebi que nada disso funciona. A questão vem de dentro. Estou para escrever este texto há meses, e a experiência como modelo no desfile da minha amiga Anaas, no último sábado, foi a gota de água.Esta frase simboliza a tomada de consciência de uma realidade que vive comigo desde os meus 20 anos, uma batalha que tenho vindo a travar comigo própria.
Sempre me senti um bichinho, alguém que vivia num mundo à parte, fosse porque os meninos gozavam comigo na escola por ser deficiente ( leia-se diferente deles) ou porque a minha Alma não se enquadrava na norma ( era sensível demais). E, queira ou não queira, esta interação afetou a imagem que eu tinha de mim própria. Quando emagreci repentinamente e, aos 20 anos, me foi diagnosticada uma anorexia eu não via razões para tal. Eu não venerava nenhuma especie de modelo de revista. Os meus heróis eram Almeida Garrett, Gandhi e os artistas intemporais das aulas de Historia da Arte. Eu não tinha parado de comer, que percebesse. Eu nem sabia que pesava mais ou menos que 64 kilos, nem o que isso significava, até ao dia em que os jeans caíram depois de apertar o botão. Nada disto foi consciente ou intencional, e por isso ainda mais difícil de perceber. Por esta altura já tinha perdido toda a minha massa muscular, tinha uma depressão grave e crises de ansiedade. Um batalhão de médicos, suplementos, antidepressivos e gente de vigia, depois recuperei um peso saudável e a minha sanidade, ou assim pensava eu. E ganhei um hábito: todas as vezes que como, penso se estou a comer o suficiente e se é uma alimentação equilibrada.
E correu tudo muito bem, até que há 2 anos tive de começar a fazer novo tratamento que me faz engordar e reduzi a atividade muscular por causa da epilepsia parcial, que ainda não tinha sido diagnosticada, e ai 20 kgs correram pra mim e começou o verdadeiro trabalho: conciliar-me com esta nova imagem corporal. E foi aqui que descobri que o que estava errado nunca teve a ver com o corpo, porque tivesse o peso que tivesse eu não me achava bonita. Os meus ombros foram sempre largos, a cara demasiado quadrada, o corpo demasiado esquisito. E também foi aqui que descobri que os braços e corpo tonificados, que eu tinha, afinal eram aquilo que muita mulher deseja e tomei uma perspectiva mais branda sobre a minha própria beleza. Os olhos, os lábios, a Alma. Acho que somos demasiado duros, exigentes conosco próprios porque temos conceitos de beleza irreais baseados em outros conceitos que a nossa própria mente criou, e que podem muito bem nem sequer existir.E ,chegando aqui, percebi que passei tanto tempo a pregar o ” nós somos apenas um invólucro para a Alma” e o ” a Beleza vem do interior” que me esqueci de fazer o mais importante – Amar-me. E posso dizer o que disser, vocês podem dizer o que disserem mas quem tem de fazer esse trabalho sou eu, é cada um de Nós. Porque se não nos Amarmos, a sério, crus e simples, sem slogans, sem frases feitas ou acessórios, a Vida não avança. E eu não sou exemplo pra ninguém, estou só a fazê-lo por mim, às cegas, sem mapa, estou apenas aprender a fazê-lo todos os dias, um dia de cada vez. O caminho é longo. O destino parece impossível. Sei que há muitas mulheres e homens com anorexia, bulimia ou pura baixa autoestima que vão ler isto e pensar:” Falar é fácil”. Eu também não tenho receitas mágicas, mas acredito que cada um de nós tem em si a capacidade de ouvir o próprio coração e reconhecer a própria Beleza. Às vezes só nos esquecemos de ouvir o nosso coração. Só temos de olhar pra dentro, olhar bem e vamos descobrir-nos. E isso sim vai mudar a visão que temos de nós. Isso vai mudar a nossa Vida. Não desistam.

li-e-anaas

Leave a Reply

